Hope to Our Goal of $10k

I think I’ve mentioned in a few of my past posts that we are hoping to raise $10,000 by the end of the summer to help us buy a CNC machine. One of the methods we have considered and are hoping will help is the idea of using Kickstarter to fund our team. Not sure if it will work, but I figure it’s worth a shot.
Recently I ran into a Kickstarter success story which has made me excited to get our page up and running. While I know that our team will not have this much success in raising money, it’s always fun to hear about the success of other cool tech companies. Additionally, I think it will be interesting to see where this company goes from here.

http://www.cnet.com/news/the-micro-3d-printer-tops-1m-on-kickstarter-in-one-day/

Given the amount of money this company was able to raise in such a short period of time, it would only make sense that given more time (a few months) that our team could reach our $10,000 goal. It’s still an optimistic goal, but it does sound more reasonable when compared to $1M in 24 hours.
Nevertheless I feel that we will have to do some other types of fundraising this summer to actually raise the money, which has me concerned that we won’t actually be able to raise the money at all. We tend to not be the best about following up on promises to ourselves in the summer and off season. We have trouble getting everyone to show up to regular meetings and not much gets done. I can only hope to reverse this issue here soon and to get back to normalcy with out meetings. And who knows, maybe we’ll make some money after all.

Leave a Reply

